Utah State NFA Rules and Allowable NFA Itemsby National Gun Trusts
Utah is a state that respects the right of gun owners to own all types of firearms, including NFA weapons. The only restriction on NFA items is for minors (under 18). However, a minor may possess an NFA item if their parent or guardian is present. In addition, a legally owned suppressor may be used while hunting in Utah.
Possession of NFA Items by a minor:
76-10-509.4. Prohibition of possession of certain weapons by minors.
(1) A minor under 18 years of age may not possess a handgun.
(2) Except as provided by federal law, a minor under 18 years of age may not possess the following:
(a) a short barreled rifle or short barreled shotgun; or
(b) a fully automatic weapon.
(3) Any person who violates Subsection (1) is guilty of:
(a) a class B misdemeanor upon the first offense; and
(b) a class A misdemeanor for each subsequent offense.
(4) Any person who violates Subsection (2) is guilty of a third degree felony.
Amended by Chapter 301, 2013 General Session
This information is provided as a service to the public. It is NOT intended as legal advice and should never be considered as such. This information was up to date at the time of publication.
Other NFA Gun Trust and ATF Related Blog Posts
Does the Photo still Come on the Back of Approved Tax Stamps?
When you apply for your ATF Form 1, ATF Form 4, or ATF Form 5 tax stamp, you and any named responsible persons, if ap...
Is the Approved ATF Form 4 that you Receive in the Mail an Original?
We were recently asked if, "the approved ATF Form 4 that you receive in the mail an original copy?" This is a great ...
Which ATF Forms and Applications Can You Fax OR EMAIL to the ATF?
The ATF requires, applications, like the ATF Form 1, ATF Form 4 and ATF Form 4 to be sent via mail and in some cases ...